Released

This past week I found out I’m now permitted to search outside my diocese for jobs.

I wish they had let me know sooner.

Friends were thrilled for me, but it has taken me some time to get there. I’m suddenly… free. So free I’m not sure what to do or where to start. And even after being released, the reality is that I can’t work in places without decent public transit and pedestrian-friendly downtowns. I just can’t. Not being able to drive has never frustrated me as much as it does right now. I used to think it was not possible to be more angry about not driving than I was at whatever age… 17, 25, etc. The frustration now really tops all the other days and years…

I’m just not sure how God is planning to make this work. I’d really like to know soon. Preferably before my friends who have jobs already move out, and before my closest middler friends leave for summer adventures elsewhere. I don’t want to inhabit an empty Close for another summer.

~ by Sophia on April 26, 2009.

3 Responses to “Released”

  1. Oh my dear – that’s really tough. I’m so sorry. The blessing is, I guess, that the US has far more cities than most places, so the hope of finding somewhere where your gifts and your needs can both find a comfortable home is surely good- but that waiting process is horrible.
    Praying for a helpful resolution.
    Does ECUSA have an equivalent of the Diocesan Director of Ordinands, who oversees training from the time you are recommended for ministry until you complete your curacy…Here, placing all ordinands is part of his role. Do hope there’s someone, anyone, who can support you with this.

  2. Kathryn: in the Episcopal Church, that person is usually called the Deployment Officer. Often (though not always) this is one of the jobs of the Canon to the Ordinary. S/he works both sides of the equation, helping clergy find churches and churches find clergy. As with any role, some of these folks are better than others; but they can be very helpful.

    Sophia, by all means contact your DO. S/he can help you set up your resume and Church Deployment Office (CDO) profile. S/he can also put you in direct contact with other dioceses (many of which do not list open churches in the national CDO database, but still prefer to network the old-fashioned way).

    Godspeed! (((Sohpia)))

  3. Amen. You and I know that most assistant/associate jobs are filled within the old boy network and are invisible. In some dioceses, the DDO doesn’t even know about many of the jobs….until they are already filled. You’ve probably already done this, but if your sponsoring rector is well-connected, it’s time for her or him to start working the phones for you.

    I spent an hour talking with another very gifted friend today who doesn’t have a job either. We sat there, scratching our heads, trying to come up with some new strategy. We haven’t come up with one yet.

    The short answer is that God will do something for us. I, like you, just wish it would happen sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

 
