A post

It’s been a long time since I blogged. I’m not really sure what to blog about.

I guess first I should do an update –

I’ve been cleared by the bishop and standing committee for ordination to the transitional diaconate.

The last retreat with my class has come and gone. I experienced it as a sad, low-key weekend where I did a lot of mourning for what is coming to an end. I also experienced the strangeness of not having all of my closest seminary friends there. I missed a handful of middlers terribly. I also missed some folks who had graduated last year. This made me feel a bit isolated and not completely tuned into everything that was going on.

I now have my deacon’s stole for ordination. In fact, I am now the proud owner of stoles in red, white, green, and purple. I’d like a blue one too but that would really just be icing on the cake.

I’m still trying to find clergy shirts I’m willing to wear in public.

I’ve been to diocesan convention and talked with lots of people, including the rector of a little church that would love a curate but can’t afford one, and the rector of Big Deal Rich Parish where they could easily afford a curate but they’re not sure they want one. The bishop still hasn’t released me.

Ordination is 2 1/2 months away. It recently occurred to me that I need to be preparing for it. Not that I haven’t been preparing for ordination for the last five plus years, but now it is really going to happen. After all this time I am really going to become a clergy member. This reality, and the seriousness of it, has overshadowed some of my fears and sadness about leaving this place. I’ve begun to think of this Lent, this last Lent as a layperson, as a bit like the final stage of preparation for baptism in the early church. Easter will come weeks before my ordination, but it seems like the time to do serious preparation work is now, before things get even busier in the lead up to graduation and ordination.

This is quite possibly the most boring and least inspired post I’ve ever written. But the blog is updated. Hopefully I’ll write again soon. The lack of inspiration does not at all reflect where my thoughts and feelings are right now, but for some reason I cannot make them transfer into the written word tonight. Maybe next time.

~ by Sophia on March 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
