A book of signatures, a verger’s robe, and a mace topped with an angel

Thursday evening made me think of Greenday’s lyrics…

Another turning point;
a fork stuck in the road.

Time grabs you by the wrist;
directs you where to go.

So make the best of this test
and don’t ask why.

It’s not a question
but a lesson learned in time.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs
and still frames in your mind.

Hang it on a shelf
In good health and good time.

Tattoos of memories
and dead skin on trial.

For what it’s worth,
it was worth all the while.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

Thursday at Evensong the new students matriculated in a ceremony full of pomp and circumstance, brightly colored academic robes worn by the faculty, and signatures in a book that’s been added to every year since 1822. Standing at the day captain’s seat in the sacristan box, I shook with emotion, but never actually made it to crying. My mind was in too many places at once to get all the way there – thinking about it being the last matriculation service my class would attend, being relieved that everything was going well, remembering (vaguely!) what it felt like to matriculate, looking forward to the party afterward, feeling at once part of what was going on and distant from it…

Right before the actual signing ceremony, I left the chapel with the chief sacristan. We chatted in the sacristy as he put on the verger’s robe and picked up the ceremonial mace decorated with an angel. Most of me was thrilled to see my dear friend, who has worked so hard over the past year, having a chance to experience a bit of glory along with all of the drudgery of his job. We took a photo and talked about how cool the vestments and mace looked together. But one tiny little bit of me, for just a moment, pondered what it would have been like if it had been me. Not that there was ever really a chance…

After the signing ceremony we were alone in the sacristy again. My friend looked at me and said “do you want to try it on?” I hesitated; he said, “oh, go ahead!” and helped me into the black, purple, and crimson verger’s robe. Surprisingly, it wasn’t too long for me. I looked at myself in the mirror – kind of cool. But not really. After just a brief moment I handed it back.

It’s always nice to realize, yet again, that things worked out exactly as they should have. I take a great deal of delight in watching my classmate do the chief’s job; he’s infinitely more qualified than I am. I’ve learned a lot from him and been happy to be one of his day captains. I seriously doubt that I would have felt that sense of joy had I been the one in charge of everything.

~ by Sophia on September 27, 2008.

One Response to “A book of signatures, a verger’s robe, and a mace topped with an angel”

  1. 抓姦,外遇,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信社,徵信

Leave a Reply

 
