Sermon update

Well, I managed to come up with something (I always do, somehow). It was a very late night and a very early morning, but it seemed to go pretty well.

Late last night out of the blue I decided to write about Peter offered to build three booths, and I used it to talk about our compulsion, especially here in the so-called “city that never sleeps” to be in constant motion. I gave them permission to make one of their Lenten disciplines learning to take time out to rest and not feel guilty about not always being productive. I talked about how Peter was so busy trying to figure out what to do that he might have missed the chance to really let what was happening sink in. Had he stopped and just lived in the moment he might have realized it was a gift from God that would be reassuring in troubled times ahead. I used my utter panic upon spraining my ankle this time last year (I was devastated by the fact that it slowed me down) as an example of how most of us don’t know how to function if we’re not doing something. It’s often only injury or illness that makes us stop and take time to think, pray, and just be. I suggested that if we made pausing a regular practice in our lives, we might be much more prepared to recognize God’s work, especially when we once again celebrate the glory of Easter.

Anyway, there was more than that, and it was (I hope) a bit more eloquent, but you get the idea. I know this was a strange read of the Transfiguration, but I had a hunch that it would touch on a pastoral need in a church in a very affluent, fast paced neighborhood. The family service was very crowded today, and based on the feedback I received, it seems like my hunch was correct for many people.

~ by Sophia on February 4, 2008.

One Response to “Sermon update”

  1. I thought it was a good message to get from the Transfiguration. I thought it was great that the Epistle reading was 2 Peter 1:16-21. Peter says “You will do well to be <>attentive<> to this as to a lamp shining in a dark place . . . ” (emphasis added). It seems that Peter thinks paying attention is important, too.Also, the choir members sitting next to me said they liked the sermon.

Leave a Reply

 
