Sermon struggle

Sermons are a struggle for me. Not because I don’t like to preach or because I don’t have an opinion on anything. The reality is quite the opposite. I do like to preach and I have an opinion on everything. I recognize, however, that preaching carries a certain authority with it. It is not ranting at a friend or telling the details of my day to my husband. It is not preached for those who knew me intimately and therefore will know what I mean when I say something that doesn’t quite make sense. It’s not even about me really. It’s about God.

It is almost 9 PM right now. I’m preaching tomorrow at 8 AM and again at 10:30 AM. You’d think I’d be done my sermon by now. You’d be wrong. I have nothing. No, actually that’s not true. I have lots of ideas. A zillion ideas about what to say about Matthew’s version of the Transfiguration. All are, well, just okay. None of them move me. I can’t figure out how I’m going to get 10-15 minutes out of any of my ideas. This text is just not hitting me. I keep trying to come up with something and… well, I get nothing.

My sermon writing process is usually like this, although not to this degree. This is so frustrating. What in the world am I going to say to this parish tomorrow?

It’s going to be a long night.

~ by Sophia on February 2, 2008.

3 Responses to “Sermon struggle”

  1. luck and grace

  2. I am a last minute sermon writer and I feel your pain. Trust your instincts, and you’ll be fine. Good luck.

  3. First of all, “do not worry about how you are to speak or what you are to say; for what you are to say will be given to you at that time.”Sometimes you just gotta write and preach what you’ve got, whether you think it’s “inspired” or not.And often, those come out the best.Besides, after you get called to be the priest in charge somewhere, you can’t not write a sermon. People seem to expect that.Now …. breathe

Leave a Reply

 
