I’m back!

My blogging break is more or less over. I have given this blog some thought and have decided it’s something that I want to keep doing. I’m going to be a bit more discerning about what goes online. I’ve started journaling (privately) the truly cranky things, and I’m going to make a concerted effort to write only that which I’d feel comfortable with absolutely anyone reading. That said, my small yet faithful group of readers can still expect honest, occasionally inspiring reflection on seminary life, the formation process, and life in general. Hopefully a genuinely silly post will make it up here once in a while too.

I’ve decided to keep my blogging name, although anyone who knows me or the little community I live in can probably tell who I am right away. Aside from the obvious connection between the name and Wisdom (or, in my case, the hope and prayer for wisdom), I used the name Sophia (with a different spelling – Sofia) as my name in high school Spanish classes.

I have been surprised at how much this blog has become part of my life in the last couple of years. I don’t even do a very good job of keeping it up sometimes, but it has been there when I’ve wanted to write. Taking it down felt like silencing my voice in a way that I do not want to do. I also must admit that I was glad people found and read my blog, especially a few incoming seminarians and people in the discernment process. I remember being in the earliest parts of the process and how overwhelming and impossible the whole thing seemed. One day I found the blog of a recently ordained priest living and working in Montana, and it changed my life. That was the first of many clergy blogs I would read and comment on. They became a lifeline in a very secular workplace and in my experience as the first postulant to the priesthood to come out of my home parish. If my writing can do that for someone else, then all the better.

After final exams and papers are complete I hope to start re-posting some of the better posts that I took down. In addition I’ll be writing new ones. I’ve saved everything (along with the comments).

Now, back to the paper I should be writing on the theology of the 1979 American Book of Common Prayer.

~ by Sophia on December 11, 2007.

11 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Welcome back! I’m glad your blog singing will continue xx

  2. Taking a break from writing my systematics paper on polity and the loci of decision-making on Scriptural interpretation to say welcome back! I, for one, missed you, since we are tracking (and trekking)together on this journey. You are not alone. I am not alone. we’re on a path many wonderful people before us have traveled. I’m glad you’re ont he path with me.Now I’ll stop before I lose my ability to type any mroe words. Many more have to be written tonight…Peace out-

  3. I’m glad to have you back.

  4. I’m glad you’re sticking around!And good luck finishing up the semester–just think, you’re half way done!!

  5. I can’t decide whether I’m excited or scared when I ponder reaching the halfway mark… Like all other seminary-related things, I think I have 9 or 10 emotions about the whole situation. I’m not halfway until the work for the semester is over – two finals and some papers to go!!!

  6. I’m glad to see you back. I’m in CPE now as I prepare to begin the formal discernment process with my parish. Your sharings, as well as others, have been very helpful to me. Peace be with you now and always.

  7. David,Good for you for taking on the CPE adventure early in the process! At some point I will put some of my reflections on my CPE experience back on my blog. I can tell you that I am still seeing the difference CPE made in my life. I handle things on a daily basis in ways that are different (and I’d like to think healthier) than in the past.My thoughts and prayers are with you in your discernment process!

  8. I feel very privileged to have been reading since… well, since I was finishing the journey through seminary, and you were just starting. I’m glad you’ve decided to continue to add your voice to the blogiverse. God’s blessings on your ministry, sister… in this space, and elsewhere.

  9. Welcome back. Knowing what to put “out there” is good to learn early.I’ll look forward to reading what you have to say about seminary and life, as well as following you into and through your first call.Blessings.

  10. As a new seminarian interviewing for summer CPE, I’m glad you’re back to blogging and glad you’ll repost those CPE entries, which is how I found your blog in the first place. Thanks for writing.

  11. 感情,第三者,婚外情,一夜情,小老婆,外遇,商標,市場調查,公平交易法,抓姦,債務,債務協商,應收帳款,詐欺,離婚,監護權,法律諮詢,法律常識,離婚諮詢,錄音,找人,追蹤器,GPS,徵信,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,尋人,抓姦,外遇,徵信社,徵信,徵信社,尋人,偵探,偵探社,徵才,私家偵探,徵信,徵信社,徵信公司,抓猴,出軌,背叛,婚姻,劈腿,感情,第三者,婚外情,一夜情,小老婆,外遇,商標,市場調查,公平交易法,抓姦,債務,債務協商,應收帳款,詐欺,離婚,監護權,法律諮詢,法律常識,離婚諮詢,錄音,找人,追蹤器,GPS,徵信,徵信公司,尋人

Leave a Reply

 
