A blessing

I do not know who to attribute this to, but our dean uses this as a final blessing on a regular basis.

Life is short,
and we do not have much time
to gladden the hearts of those
who make this earthly pilgrimage with us.

So, be swift to love,
Make haste to do kindness . . .
Shower abundant hospitality on friend and stranger,
Walk in justice,
that you may follow the path of mercy and love.

And the blessing of God,
Who comes to us Unbidden,
Who for our lives was Broken,
And in whose Spirit we are guided into
Wholeness and Holiness of Life
Be upon you and those whom you love
this day, and forevermore. Amen.

~ by Sophia on April 4, 2007.

3 Responses to “A blessing”

  1. That is beautiful! Thanks for sharing it.

  2. It a lovely blessing, particularly the line Make haste to do kindnessWe make haste to do so many things on our “to do” lists, I worry that kindness gets short shrift!I will tuck this into the back of my breviary!

  3. I didn’t comment when you first posted this, but now that I see it again, I just wanted to say that I’ve been using this in my parish, and people really really love it.

Leave a Reply

 
