Downsizing

Just 13 work days left. YYYYAAAAAAAYYYYY! No more pushing paper in my little cube!

We’re starting to work on the logistics of moving our stuff. Some is getting put in a yard sale, some is going to my brother in law and his wife, some to my sister or parents, some to groups that take old clothes, etc., and some to storage. The rest goes with us to seminary.

I wish I knew an easy, non-painful way to reduce a house with 3 bedrooms, a basement, an attic, a backyard shed and two crawl spaces to a tiny city apartment. We’re in our early 30’s. We got married just a few years ago. This is not really a natural time for downsizing in the life of an average couple. We are also pack rats. Getting rid of things is not something we are good at.

I know that everything we give away or sell means less to move and less storage to pay for, but it’s harder than I thought it would be to look at all of our stuff and decide what to do with it. I know it’s just things, but what if we NEED them? We’re not particularly materialistic in the brand name, gotta have what the neighbors have sort of way. We’re more the “don’t get rid of things because you might need that random nut or bolt or bath mat or old coffee mug sometime – why have to go out and buy it again?” type people.

I was a Girl Scout and so was my mother and grandmother. We are not the “unprepared” kind of people.

I guess it’s just another part of the transition.

~ by Sophia on June 23, 2006.

2 Responses to “Downsizing”

  1. Yup, it’s hard, isn’t it? We’ve been overwhelmed with awful rain for the past few days, with more to come. The townhouse development we’re moving into has suffered from the rain: 50 of its units got water in their basements. I don’t know yet whether our unit is one of them. This may change our plans to finish the basement with sheetrock and a dropped acoutsic ceiling. It may also raise a question in my mind as to whether we want to put the sofabed down there. Waaaaa! Tempting to keep things. Equally tempting today to toss things!I’m glad you’ll have some time off to focus on your transition. I’m doing the same, and I think it’s the only sane thing to do. But doesn’t it feel good to no longer stress on the sale of the house?

  2. Yikes – the rain has been bad here but awful in your area, hasn’t it? Friends of ours in MD have been in an ongoing basement floor saga – this rain was the absolute LAST thing they needed!It does feel wonderful to have the house sold. The inspection is tomorrow and I’m kind of nervous about that (we’ve done a lot of work on the house but it’s old, and old houses are, well, different than new ones. Not all buyers “get” that.) Anyway, the under contract sign goes up tomorrow provided that the inspection goes okay. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

 
