Friendship Meme

Songbird’s Friday meme –

“I’ve been reflecting this week on the gift of friendship, of people who will be there no matter what you need or when you need it. Sometimes a friend accompanies us through a dark place or dances with us through a joyful time or simply walks down the road of an ordinary time beside us.

Name five friends who have been there when you needed them.”

1. Computer guy – We’ve been friends for the last 16 years, husband and wife for the last 3. He was always the kindest, most interesting, most loyal, most patient, most intellectually stimulating friend I ever had. Our life together is a dream come true that I could never have predicted as a teenager. Sometimes everything you ever wanted and needed is right in front of you and you don’t even know.

2. Rabbi S – From the moment we met on move in day our senior year in college, I have thanked God that our paths crossed. She has walked with me through joy and despair and many fabulously ordinary days. She’s the one who says what needs to be said when I’m getting a little nutty and puts things in perspective when I start acting like it’s all about me. We have kept in touch across time zones and continents and despite sometimes leading very different lives. It was S who helped me find my way back to a life of faith when I had almost decided God was irrelevant. It was also her example that helped me believe that I could actually become a clergy member.

3. T – We’ve been friends since middle school, and she has always been infinitely patient and kind with me, even when I’ve been a jerk of a friend. Why she still puts up with me I’m not all that sure. We don’t always click or understand each other; our temperaments are not alike. Despite this, she has always been there, offering friendship and great food.

4. E – I last saw her in 4th grade, before she moved away to the midwest. I was last in touch with her when we were both undergrads. She’s now a professor in the UK. I think of her every year on her birthday, which I can’t forget because it’s one day before mine. I was a very lonely and shy child, and I remember times spent with her as bright spots in otherwise dismal elementary school years. I sometimes still miss her.

5. E, C, and S – what would I have done at Big Prestigious University without the friendship of these women? Probably gotten myself fired from a job I really needed but truly disliked. They are each special to me for different reasons. They are all united in their willingness to look beyond my entry level job at BPU and learn who I really am.

Some others I have been blessed beyond imagining to have in my life…

J – my eccentric, quirky, always interesting and always there friend in high school. She always pushed me to learn more, think more, read more.

Friends from Camp M and Summer at D. Univ. – people in the same boat who made me feel normal when the world treated me as anything but.

Folks at St. M’s – how does one adequately express gratitude and love for people who shared the journey with you as family for 3 decades?

Mentors J, H, and A – each an original. each there at just the right moment. One to encourage my intellect, one to support and nurture my call, and one to free me from the idea that I need to be anyone but myself while living out my ministry.

MIL and FIL – I have been humbled by their love and support of me in spite of our disagreements.

RevGals – Okay, so I’ve never met any of you, but your virtual presence has been all the difference in the past year. I no longer walk this confusing path of discernment alone, thanks to you.

~ by Sophia on February 25, 2006.

2 Responses to “Friendship Meme”

  1. Right back at you! I’m so honored to have you as a friend! Thanks for sticking with me on this incredible journey called life! I wouldn’t want to do it without our friendship and you around! 🙂 Love, Rabbi S

  2. Are you OK? we haven’t heard from you in a while…

Leave a Reply

 
