Car Wash

Q: What do you get when you combine 2 1/2 hours, 1 parking lot, 5 pizzas, lots of soda, 2 hoses, soap, water, lots of sponges and towels, 20 some kids and adults, and a lot of dirty cars?

A: $500 for hurricane victims (Yippee!!)

And

a lot of silly, wet, sudsy, sunburned, tired, happy kids

some wet, very tired, sunburned, still smiling adults

dozens of more or less clean cars (if you came to our car wash, don’t look too hard near the bottom of your car or at the roof of your SUV)

Yesterday was a very good day.

🙂

~ by Sophia on September 12, 2005.

3 Responses to “Car Wash”

  1. That’s great! I just started teaching Rite 13 of the Journey to Adulthood program at my church. The kids really only started talking about halfway through, as always happens in a first class. And how pleased and proud I was when one of them asked us all to pray about the hurricane, and then others started suggesting a project to raise money. We’ve settled on a bake sale. We might do it for St. Francis’s Day and sell lots of animal-shaped cookies, which would be super fun. I’m so glad they want to help!

  2. Anna,I don’t know if you’ve noticed from other parts of my blog, but I am a huge fan of the J2A program. My husband and I introduced it to our congregation last year. We have about a dozen kids and wonderful parents. I love doing this program. We had our first Rite 13 ceremony last April and it was just fabulous! 🙂

  3. Yes, I figured you were a fan! We’re still figuring it out and have yet to settle into using the curriculum. The kids are absolutely fantastic– smart, articulate, and more than happy to take charge of the agenda.

Leave a Reply

 
