We’re back!

On Saturday we drove home from the beautiful mountainous state where we spent a week with Computer Guy’s extended family. The drive was beautiful, and the best part was that we got to stop in a state south of our home state to visit my best friend and her wife. They are one of our favorite couples out of all the couples we know. They are both interesting, kind, and intelligent people and they each bring something special to the relationship. It’s so cool to be able to stop and see them on a drive up the east coast – this is the first time that my friend S. and I have lived on the same coast in YEARS, not to mention when she was in Israel for a year and we had to try to keep in touch across continents. I love that we can drive to see them!

The vacation location was BEAUTIFUL! I have noticed since coming back that where I live is- humid, hot, noisy, dirty, crowded. and has awful light pollution. I miss the view out over the mountains at 3500 feet, stargazing at the Milky Way while sitting in a rocking chair, and the twisting, turning mountain roads with their ever changing scenery. We were high enough that the clouds rolled around/through us rather than over us. Very cool. I realize that the Appalachians are not high in the scheme of things, but it was nice anyway.

We did have a wonderful time, although I am now sure I am an introvert (how could I have doubted?) It was a bit too much togetherness. When I’m around 12 other people non-stop I get this craving to get away for a while. I wind up on a mission to find solitude. This is pathetic, but Wednesday afternoon (in private, with only Computer Guy around) I actually broke down in tears because I couldn’t find somewhere quiet to be alone. I know, it’s ridiculous. Anyway, that was probably the low point, and a good time really was had by all.

One other thing – this is going to sound silly, but I prayed out loud, with everyone present, without writing the prayer down. And it went well! It’s a bit of a sad joke among the Episcopalians in my universe that we can’t handle spontaneous prayer. We have to have something written down ahead of time. I’m working on improving this, since priests obviously need to be able to pray anywhere, anytime, but it makes me nervous. I did a grace for lunch at the end of the week, and somehow remembered to thank God for our family, for the beautiful place we were blessed to rest in for a week, for our common meals, and to ask God to bless any one on our minds who couldn’t attend the week (like my brother and sister in law in the Peace Corps). I also took the time to ask for safety on our journeys home and for God to watch over all of us in the coming year AND to help us remember our less fortunate neighbors. And then I even managed to close the prayer in the name of the One God, Creator, Redeemer and Sustainer. Whew. That was all a big deal for me, especially since my in-laws had never heard me pray before. Looking at it now it seems like an everything but the kitchen sink prayer, but I think it went okay. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now it’s back to work at Liberal Think Tank. I’m in the middle of lots of tedious projects but I’m comforted by the thought of all the undergrads coming back in a couple of weeks. I love my undergrads and it has been quiet and boring without them.

I’m feeling even more cranky about Liberal Think Tank then I was before I left for vacation. As I’ve said before, I consider myself rather liberal/progressive. However, Liberal Think Tank is just too secular for my taste. They are pretty sure they have all the answers, and they are convinced their way of knowing the Truth is far superior to anyone else’s. It gets a bit old. They are all about preaching tolerance but some folks there have shown everything but blatant contempt for religious people and ideas. How is that tolerant?

Anyway, enough ranting. Vacation was great, things are good, and my parents took care of the Mutt with only one minor incident – he chewed up his leather leash. I warned them about that. Typical grandparents – they don’t believe what you say about the grandchildren, er, grand dog. ๐Ÿ™‚

~ by Sophia on August 17, 2005.

One Response to “We’re back!”

  1. “priests obviously need to be able to pray anywhere, anytime,”Actually, you just need to pseudo-memorize a few from the BCP and you’ve got it made. ๐Ÿ™‚Peace,

Leave a Reply

 
