Calmer Me

So I met with my bishop today. I expected him to give me 30 min of his time. He spent close to two hours talking with me.

I was very impressed with everything about the way he conducted the meeting. He is one of those people who is truly present when talking with you – not wondering if he should check his email or thinking about what to have for dinner. He is also very easy to talk to to the point that I kept having to remind myself that I was not just chatting with a friend or coworker.

We had a very wide ranging and pleasant conversation, and he has given me permission to move on to the next step – the diocesan Commission on Ministry interview in September.

Whew!

Something I can’t quite get used to yet – people praying with me at the end of interviews. What a different world.

~ by Sophia on July 14, 2005.

One Response to “Calmer Me”

  1. Steph– so glad to have found your blog! And I’m glad to see that you’re blessed with a listening bishop. Many congratulations on moving to the next step.Praying at the end of interviews– very cool. Since I work for a church organization, we often pray before or after meetings. Something about having my two directors (whom I adore) praying that I’d be blessed in my work brings me perilously close to tears. I’d be a wreck in front of a bishop!

Leave a Reply

 
