Another step in the process

Tomorrow I meet with the bishop for the first time. He is relatively new and everyone, and I mean everyone I’ve talked to about him just gushes about what an amazing, wonderful, kind, etc. person he is.

I’m too stressed at this point to find any of this comforting. Knowing that this person can decide that I should not go forward in the process, and knowing that I need to develop a good working relationship with him because I will report to him for years to come makes me more than a bit nervous.

I keep telling myself to breathe… slowly… relax

My rector has told me every time I have freaked out at some point in this process that if God wants me to be a priest, I will be.

Sometimes I’m just too type A to digest that information.

The funny thing is that after each step in the process (meetings with my rector, the long PCOM process, the psych eval, etc,) my reaction has been “oh, not so bad.” In some cases (especially the PCOM) the experience has been a rewarding growing experience. Ah, hindsight.

I’m ready for hindsight on the conversation with the bishop, because right now I’m just a wreck.

~ by Sophia on July 12, 2005.

2 Responses to “Another step in the process”

  1. Breathing is good. In through the nose, out through the mouth…It might also be helpful to remember that the guy in the purple shirt also has black ones in his closet, and before he owned those sat in the same discernment chair you are. In other words, he’s a real person too– and probably looking forward to meeting you!

  2. What Jane said — breathing is good. From my experience, my meetings with the bishop were always a positive thing. If he’s anything like you’ve described, he will be there to help you through all of this.Relax and enjoy the conversation.

Leave a Reply

 
